The Canada Goose… One Confused American’s Perspective

One of my family’s favorite activities while visiting Niagara Falls is feeding the always beautiful and proud-looking Canada Goose!  And could there be a better place to feed them but in their home country of Canada? 

A Canada Goose looking this way…

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                For us, it’s all part of the deal of visiting our great neighbors and friends to the North!  Within minutes of crossing the Peace Bridge, we are kneeling before dozens of Canada Geese… and we’re so proud that we get ’em eating right out of our Yankee hands!  It makes us feel real good, like diplomats almost… visiting Canada as Americans and treating their beloved birds so well.  Brings tears to our eyes almost!

…the same Canada Goose now looking That Way.  I think he was fascinated with my camera, or maybe I had a fly on my nose.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Then my wife makes a joke… “I guess these are Canadian Canada Geese…  eh? ”   I looked at her and groaned, thinking that I just can’t take her anywhere anymore.  But you know what?  I’d never really thought about it.  Back home in Ohio, very nearly in the Heartland of America, we also feed Canada Geese there.  So what the heck?  Are the geese back home American Canada Geese?  Do they say ‘Um’ and ‘Ya know’ after they honk while the geese north of the border keep it to a simple  ‘Eh?’

We named this guy ‘Barney’ which is an old American name which means ‘Escaped Barn Goose.’  We couldn’t tell if it was a Canadian barn or an American barn he escaped from though. 

                                                                                                                                                                                                          So I made a point to look into immediately after we got home.  After two months of forgetting, I finally remembered on a Sunday Night when I’m up way past my bedtime.  Here’s what I found after one minute of Googling: 

There’s considerable debate over the naming of these beautiful birds.  Some folks say it’s because they originated in Canada, others say they were named after a man named John Canada and that their names have nothing to do the country of Canada.  I have to admit I’m a little crest fallen… all this time I thought it had to do with our friends to the north and their wonderful country of Canada.  I’ll have to look into it and report back here with what I find. 

Not Proud!  Canadian Canada Geese will eat American Cracked Corn!

                                                                                                                                                                                                    Please… I welcome your comments!  I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that there’s probably all sorts of folks out there who are smarter than me and would know the answer to the Canada Goose Name Origin thing!

I would do some checking right now but it’s nearly midnight on both sides of the border, and I must ‘hit the hay’, an American saying  which means ‘I gotta get off the computer and go to sleep.’   Take Care as always, and thanks for visiting these Places At Niagara Falls!  (I hope you enjoy the pictures of the Authentic Canada Geese!  I will soon upload some photos of the remarkably similar Ohio Canada Geese.)

And finally, some pictures which are not Niagara Falls related but which I threw in just for fun on this, my ‘Weekly Photo’ section….

Some Chick I met at the Ohio State Fair

A green Gray Tree Frog on my blue garage in Ohio 

Our Ohio Cat Ollie, after a bath to remove some stubborn dingle-berries!

 

Good night, and I hope you always enjoy these Places At Niagara Falls (and sometimes Ohio, USA!)

~ by Greg Nold on October 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Canada Goose… One Confused American’s Perspective”

  1. What a nice post. I really love reading these types or articles. I can?t wait to see what others have to say.

  2. Thank you very much for your comment! I Love the Canada / Canadian Geese, no matter what their names are! I hope you can pay a visit to Niagara Falls and see them for yourself in the beautiful Dufferin Islands along the Niagara River! Thanks once again, you brightened my day! — Greg from Places At Niagara Falls

Leave a Reply

 
